U.S. College Student in Hong Kong: I’m Proud to Walk in a Falun Gong March

July 31, 2015 | By Minghui correspondents Song Xinming and Huang Yusheng

(Minghui.org) University of Maryland student Philip Evich had an unusual experience this summer… walking in a Falun Gong march in Hong Kong. He said he was proud to do it.

Philip is not a Falun Gong practitioner, but decided to walk along with practitioners during the march on July 18, 2015. “Falun Gong practitioners are very peaceful and kind. Therefore, I support them,” he said.

Falun Gong practitioners marched in Hong Kong on July 18-19, 2015 to raise awareness of the persecution of Falun Gong in China, on the 16th anniversary of their peaceful resistance. Mr. Evich attended the events on both days.

He was visiting his childhood friend Liao Yuyin, a Falun Gong practitioner. They grew up together in a small town in the United States. He didn’t believe that the Chinese Communist Party (CCP) would deprive Falun Gong practitioners’ freedom of belief. A close encounter with the Hong Kong Youth Care Association (YCA) changed his perception.

The YCA members were yelling and slandering Falun Gong practitioners during the march. He and Miss Liao went into the YCA group and had an exchange. Responding to why they were there, a YCA member said, “Because my friend asked me to be here.”

As to why the friend asked him to be there, the YCA member said, “I don’t know, but I can get paid for this.”

“Do you like doing this?”

“No,” the member answered. “It’s quite boring.”

“Do you know what Falun Gong is?”

“No,” the member replied. “They [practitioners] haven’t really done anything [bad].”

Mr. Evich witnessed the impact Chinese Communist Party (CCP) lies, “The lies drive people to hate Falun Gong practitioners, and they don’t even know why.” He said it was completely wrong to violate human rights and freedom of belief. “Everyone’s belief should be respected, not hated,” he added.

2015-07-31-hongkong-01
Philip Evich (left), with friend Liao Yuyin. Philip said he was proud of walking in the Falun Gong march with practitioners.

2015-07-31-hongkong-02
The march on July 18, consisting of 700 Falun Gong practitioners, began at Cheung Sha Wan Playground at around 2:00 p.m., and ended at the Star Ferry Pier.

2015-07-31-hongkong-03

2015-07-31-hongkong-04
The march on July 19 focused on the current waves of criminal lawsuits against former dictator Jiang Zemin in China. The four-hour long parade went through Causeway Bay, Wan Chai, Central, and ended at the Liaison Office of the Central Government in Hong Kong.

2015-07-31-hongkong-05
The Divine Land Marching Band led the marches on July 18 and 19 in Hong Kong.

2015-07-31-hongkong-06
Israeli Falun Gong practitioner Artiom Tsilis said, “Falun Gong has helped me find the meaning and direction of my life.”

Artiom Tsilis is a Falun Gong practitioner from Israel. He has been in Hong Kong for two months for his job. This was his first time participating in a march in Hong Kong.

“We have to step forward to protect people’s basic rights. People are even killed for their organs in China. Someone must tell people the truth when facts are covered up.” Mr. Tsilis said that helping people discern lies is a social responsibility.

He is 24, and has practiced Falun Gong for seven years. “Falun Gong has helped me find the meaning and direction of my life,” he said. “My life is enriched and I’m living it to the fullest.”

He carried a large flag in the procession on July 18. Even though he was walking into the wind throughout the procession, he said he was not tired at all. Propelled by the urge to inform the public of the truth, he reamained energetic, “I am happy to see spectators looking at the flags and reading the informational materials. I can do this all day long!”

Chinese version available

Category: Other Community Events

Accident with a Falun Gong Practitioner—I am Blessed

July 31, 2015 | By a Yao Caifeng, a non-practitioner from Hebei Province, China

(Minghui.org) My name is Yao Caifeng. I am 63 years old, and from Bazhou City in Hebei Province.

I was involved in an accident on February 17, 2015, when my motor-tricycle collided with a motorbike. When I saw Mr. Chen Jiadian, the 88-year-old driver, fall off his motorbike, I thought that this was a bad accident, and as it was my fault, I would be in big trouble.

I hurried over to help him, apologized, and offered to take him to the hospital.

“I am not harmed,” Mr. Chen said. “Do you know why? It’s because I am a Falun Gong practitioner. Thank you for your offer, but I don’t need to go to the hospital, and neither do I need any medical treatment.”

He then said goodbye and drove off.

I hurried home and told my family. My wife and I immediately went over to Mr. Chen’s home. We tried to give him a gift for being so nice, but he refused to accept it.

I am blessed, because the person I hit was a Falun Gong practitioner! If I had hit someone else, the consequence could have been totally different.

Causing damage to an elderly person could have turned out to be very serious. If the person survived, there could be hospital bills, medical bills, bills for lost income, compensation to his family, and possibly more.

How could I afford such huge bills? How could I have a normal life with my family if I had hit someone not as thoughtful as Mr. Chen?

Mr. Chen told me that all practitioners follow the Falun Gong principles of Truthfulness-Compassion-Forbearance to be good people.

I didn’t know much about Falun Gong, but through this accident, I now understand the practice a lot more.

I realize that if Falun Gong had not been persecuted and slandered by the Chinese Communist Party, and if this cultivation practice could be freely spread in my country, the morals of the Chinese people would most certainly rise.

I am blessed today. I thank Falun Gong and Master Li Hongzhi, the founder of Falun Gong, with all my heart.

Chinese version available

Category: People in China Awaken to the Truth

Six Falun Dafa Practitioners Arrested After Practitioner Files a Complaint Against Former Chinese Dictator Jiang Zemin

July 31, 2015 | By a Minghui correspondent from Hebei Province, China

(Minghui.org) Police broke into Mr. Yang Miao’s home on July 8, 2015, attempting to arrest him, because he recently filed a complaint against Jiang Zemin, the former head of the Chinese Communist Party.

Mr. Yang was not there at the time, so they arrested everyone else present, including his wife Ms. Zhang Hehua, their daughter, and their guests – practitioners Ms. Ren Jihua, Ms. Zhao Yanping, Mr. Yu Yingming, Ms. Wang Xiaolin, and her sister Ms. Wang Xiaodi.

The officers ransacked the place and confiscated Falun Gong books, other personal belongings, and more complaint letters against Jiang that were to be submitted.

Mr. Yang Miao lives in Chaigoubao Town, Huaian County, Zhangjiakou City, Hebei Province.

Ms. Zhang, Ms. Ren, Ms. Zhao, and Ms. Wang Xiaodi are being held at the Zhangjiakou Detention Center. Mr. Yu and Ms. Wang Xiaolin were taken back to Chaigoubao Town because they failed the physical examination at the detention center.

Mr. Yang’s daughter was released the following day. But before she was released, over ten officers demanded that she curse the Falun Gong founder Mr. Li Hongzhi and step on a photo of him, which she refused.

Information About Practitioners Denied

Families and friends of the arrested practitioners gathered in front of the county police department on the day of the arrest. Police would not give them any details about the arrests.

When the families returned to the police department the next morning, officers told them to go home, saying that they would notify them at a later date. The families were forcibly removed at around 10:00 a.m.

A family member phoned the police department that afternoon and was told that the arrested practitioners had been transferred to the Zhangjiakou Detention Center at 2:00 p.m.

Those involved in persecuting the six practitioners:
Bai Jie (白洁), commissioner and Party secretary in Chaigoubu Town: +86 13503130688 (Cell)
Wu Jin (武进), commissioner in Chaigoubu Town: +86 13785305556 (Cell)
Xin Yanjun (莘彦军), deputy Party secretary in Chaigoubu Town: +86 13932382466 (Cell)
Yang Ping (杨平), director of the Comprehensive Management Office, Chaigoubu Town: +86 13630888329 (Cell)
Li Qiang (李强), deputy director of the Justice Institute, Chaigoubu Town: +86 13784085750 (Cell)

Chinese version available

Category: Accounts of Persecution