Chicago: The Art of Zhen, Shan, Ren International Exhibition Held at the Thompson Center Government Building

August 10, 2015

(Minghui.org) The Art of Zhen, Shan, Ren (Truth, Compassion, Tolerance) International Exhibition was held at the James R. Thompson Center, which houses offices of the Illinois state government, from July 8 to 14, 2015.

Through over 30 oil paintings created by artists who practiced Falun Gong, residents of Illinois took in the stories of Falun Gong through vividly realistic paintings depicting a striking contrast between the beauty of the ancient meditation and the brutality of the persecution.

More than one hundred citizens signed petitions to their congressional representatives requesting their support for House Resolution 343, a newly introduced resolution demanding the Chinese regime to stop forced organ harvesting from Falun Gong practitioners and other dissidents.


The Art of Zhen, Shan, Ren (Truth, Compassion, Tolerance) International Exhibition on display at the Thompson Center from July 8 to 14, 2015.


Visitors view the artwork and read about the background stories behind the paintings.


Many people commented in the guestbook to show their support for Falun Gong and ending the persecution.

“Beautiful, spiritual and inspiring artworks! They let me feel the blessings of God,” wrote Pati Marting, one of several supporters who offered words of encouragement in the guestbook.

An artist who signed the guestbook, R. Sal., wrote: “The paintings are beautiful and moving. I have never been touched so deeply by the aesthetic and spirit. Being an artist myself, I am amazed at the emotions and details depicted in them. Being a human, I am moved by their actions. I see hope with those who are persistent in adversity. May God bless you! Hang on!”

Many others shared their thoughts with the volunteer staff at the exhibit.

Ms. Kothyn Alexander, a retired high school principal, said that she was “sad and encouraged” by the exhibition. She was sad because there should be no persecution in the world. She felt encouraged because many of the paintings showed the courage and faith that resonated with her.

She said she hoped to have a chance to introduce the exhibition to her students for this was an important lesson on understanding the real China.

James, a resident of Chicago, said that the exhibition inspired his interest in Falun Gong and he was going to buy some Falun Gong books to read during the rest of the summer.

Ms. Roberta Valdes works for the Department of Children and Family Services. She was shocked to learn that the Chinese regime has a state-sanctioned operation to harvest organs from living Falun Gong practitioners for sale to the transplant industry. “It is terrible. How can they treat their own people like this!” said Ms. Valdes. “The crime must be stopped immediately!”

Chinese version available

Category: Art & Photo Exhibits

Many People Anticipating Jiang Zemin’s Arrest

August 14, 2015 | By a Falun Gong practitioner from Shandong Province, China

(Minghui.org) When the global effort to bring Jiang Zemin to justice started, I began seizing opportunities to tell people about it.

Should Have Been Sued Long Ago

I ran into a friend at a market, who asked me what I had been up to, so I told her about the movement to sue Jiang Zemin.

She thought I was joking.

“No, I’m serious,” I said. “People around the world are suing him. Tens of thousands of people have filed criminal complaints against him already.”

She asked what crimes he had committed, so I told her about his intention to eradicate Falun Gong.

A elderly man selling vegetables next to us joined the conversation. “He should have been sued a long time ago,” he said. ”He is an enemy of the people. He is not a good person!”

Others around us smiled in agreement.

He Should Be Indicted!

I went to an office looking for a friend one day, but he wasn’t there. A young man in the office was looking at a surveillance video and asked me to sit down and wait.

I said, “I can give you software to break through China’s great firewall so you can read the real news from overseas.”

He wanted to know if it really worked.

I told him that many people now use it. “Using this software, I’ve learned that people from all around the world are suing Jiang Zemin.”

“Jiang Zemin should be indicted!” he responded right away.

The Scourge of China

One Saturday morning I went to a market where I often buy eggs from an elderly man. He greeted me, “What’s been keeping you busy lately? I haven’t seen you for a long time.”

I told him about the movement to sue Jiang and how I had been involved.

He applauded my action, saying, “Yes, he has been the scourge of China.”

I handed him a Minghui Weekly.“Tens of thousands of people have sued him.”

Another man nearby looked at the headline and wondered if Jiang had been arrested yet. After I told him that he had not, he was disappointed. “It will only count when he is arrested,” he replied.

“Don’t worry. Everything goes through a process. He will be arrested,” I said.

Another vendor said, “Give me a copy. I want to check it out, too.”

I handed him a copy and said to another vendor getting closer to listen in, “You can take a look, too.”

Sharing the News

I first told my close friends in town the news about suing Jiang. We have a very good relationship, and they asked what had been keeping me so busy. When I told them how I was suing Jiang Zemin, they all laughed.

“No wonder you are so busy,” someone said. “You are taking care of 1.3 billion people in our country.” I thought they were making fun of me, so I did not reply.

But I later thought about what they said. I enlightened they were indeed correct. They also realize that suing Jiang Zemin is indeed taking care of the Chinese people!

Chinese version available

Category: People in China Awaken to the Truth

New Practitioner: A Wonderful Year

August 14, 2015 | By a Western practitioner in Chicago

(Minghui.org) I’m a new student and it has been less than a year since I began studying the Fa. I’m grateful for having this opportunity to cultivate. It’s been a wonderful year, though I have had challenges while entering this new road of cultivation.

At the start of my journey I was very excited, but since I learned of the persecution against Falun Gong practitioners in China, it saddened me. Reading fellow practitioner’s articles were very encouraging and I was amazed how many progressed with diligence and righteous thoughts.

Truthfulness-Compassion-Forbearance seemed the best thing imaginable, and should not be taken for granted.

Since the start of my cultivation it was a big transition for me since the term cultivation was rather foreign to me. I had a sense of responsibility, so I decided I would start practicing immediately.

I was never disciplined so this is a big step for me. These principles were very profound and I knew this was exactly what my soul was searching for. From my past experiences I felt my life was heading downward and just the fact that I was able to find a way to get myself on the right track was very heartwarming. My family certainly has benefited, as well. I feel more in the moment when I’m around them, and do my best to live for others rather than myself.

I began sincerely studying and taking in Master’s Fa teachings. I used to suffer from knee problems and other minor problems. After a week of reading the Fa, I haven’t had any difficulty moving about and all my physical symptoms disappeared.

In my work I had been reluctant to put my heart into my work at times, but since cultivating, I became happy doing any work. The work environment was very unhealthy with many constantly spewing vulgar language. I was determined into be calm and just focus on doing my work. Sometimes when I made a mistake a co-worker would yell at me. I tried my best to remain unruffled, but it still lingered in my mind. I knew this was incorrect, and I put more effort into upgrading my mind nature.

After a few months of practicing I had an encounter in my dream. I was in a facility where various organizations were holding some sort of show. Some people were trying to lure me in into hearing their teachings but I declined and said I came here for the Falun Gong organization. As I walked into the auditorium the show was about to start, I was far in the back and I saw many people on the stage and they were performing an act of martial arts and Chinese dances. I was very pleased seeing this. I knew it had to be a hint for something. Just a week after this encounter, I noticed an article about Shen Yun on Minghui. I was curious so I looked it up on YouTube and realized that the performances were those similar to the dream. At once I bought tickets for the show. They would be coming a month later to perform in Chicago.

At the start of the Shen Yun show it was a very serene environment and the show was unlike anything I’ve ever seen. It was truly heaven-like. I was seated at the far edge of the theatre. When I had my phone out, one of the local assistants noticed that my phone’s wall paper display the Falun emblem and she asked how I’d heard of the practice. She was also a practitioner and was delighted to meet a new practitioner. I told her that I was in search for other practitioners and she told me she knew some near my area.

It was our predestined relationship that drew us together. Ever since, I’ve been determined to meet up with local practitioners weekly for Fa study and exercises. These weekly gatherings help strengthen me to proceed in doing whatMaster asks of us.

Chinese version available

Category: Beginning Cultivation