Australian Legislator Proposes Legislative Amendment to Stop Unethical Organ Trade

August 26, 2015 | By Minghui correspondent Li Zheng in Sydney

(Minghui.org) Australian Greens Party politician David Shoebridge, who serves in the NSW (New South Wales) Parliament, hosted a forum on human organ trafficking at the NSW Parliament on August 11, 2015. Attendees discussed the practice of unethical organ trade in the world and its impact on NSW. The consensus was that Australia should amend its legislation to stop such unethical organ transplants.


David Shoebridge, NSW Greens Party member

On the same afternoon, Mr. Shoebridge presented to the parliament of New South Wales the 2015 Human Tissue Amendment (Human Organ Trafficking) Bill, along with a petition that supports legislative change in NSW to stop residents traveling overseas to receive unethically sourced organs.

Proposed Legislative Amendment to Stop Unethical Organ Trade

Mr. Shoebridge explained his proposed legislative amendment aims to bring harsher punishment to unethical transplant tourism.

He said that in early 2013, his office received a complaint report claiming a NSW resident had initially planned to travel abroad to obtain an organ, but the friend found out the organ was unethically sourced.

His friend’s doctor told him that a patient decided against getting an organ transplant, because the patient received confirmation from a Chinese doctor on the phone that the kidney they sourced for him was from an executed prisoner, which would be available next week for him for transplant.

He also learned that the research of two Canadians human rights lawyers, David Matas, and David Kilgour, concluded that live organ harvesting is rampant in China. Moreover, the Chinese regime and military have been involved in forced organ harvesting of living Falun Gong practitioners.

Mr. Shoebridge gathered different opinions, and collected signatures online to support an amendment of the Australian legislation. As of today, he has received support from many residents in NSW. They hope to work together to stop the unethical organ transplants, and make laws to criminalize it.

240,000 Signatures in Support of Proposed Bill

In addition to the 170,000 signatures received by parliament two years ago, Mr. Shoebridge added an extra 70,000 signatures to the petition, bringing the total number to 240,000 signatures, making it the largest petition in the history of the NSW Parliament.

Mr. Shoebridge said that this represents the powerful wish of NSW residents. They hope and request the NSW government to act to stop the unethical human organ trade.

NSW Parliament should amend the law to criminalize unethical organ transplants, and therefore perfect the Australian law to curb international illegal organ trade. Pressure also needs to be put on the Chinese regime to stop their unethical practice of forced organ harvesting.

Mr. Shoebridge also presented to the NSW Parliament, the Human Tissue Amendment (Trafficking in Human Organs) Bill 2015. Once the bill is passed, the law will criminalize unethical trafficking of vital organs, and the law will charge such offenders with manslaughter.

Sydney Liberal Party Member: “I Really Hope that all Members of all Parties See it as a Human Rights Issue and Support it”

Human rights lawyer Andrea Tokaji, spoke at the forum and said the new legislation will ensure that Australia severs all links to unethical organ transplant tourism. Chinese organ transplant doctors should also be denied visas if they apply to come to Australia to receive organ transplant training. Tokaji also addressed the issue of China’s illegal imprisonment of thousands of prisoners of conscience. She hopes the Australian government can urge China to open all prisons and other facilities to allow international human rights organizations to conduct independent investigations.

Sydney Liberal Party member Andrew Bush commented: “The issue is absolutely vital. The issue of forced live organ harvesting should be above Party politics.” He said, “I really hope that all members of all parties see it as a human rights issue and support it.”

Chinese version available

Category: Organ Harvesting

CEO: How I Survived a Fatal Accident

August 26, 2015 | By Ar Qiang

(Minghui.org) The Chinese Communist Party (CCP) has deceived people with propaganda against Falun Dafa for 16 years. When they learn the facts, many people choose to support Falun Dafa. Their courage in supporting the innocent in the face of this harsh suppression, often brings blessings and miracles. Below is a story that occurred to the CEO of a foreign firm last summer.

A Card vs. a Pendant

Last year I went to a fortune teller and he told me that my life may be in danger. Following his advice, I bought a pendant with the image of a deceased CCP leader and hung it next to my car’s rear view mirror.

One day a friend saw it. He is a Falun Dafa practitioner and often talked to me about the practice and explained why the Party spread hate-propaganda, including the staged self-immolation incident. He said, “We both know Mao and the Party have harmed a large number of Chinese through its political campaigns, such as the Cultural Revolution. The Party itself could face serious consequences for damaging traditional culture and Chinese moral values. Tell me, how could such a dead person do you any good?” He asked.

What he said did make sense. He recommended that I remove the pendant and carry a card with me instead. “Keeps these words in your mind and say them when your life is in danger, you will be saved,” he said.

2015-08-26-survived-01
A typical truth-clarification card made by practitioners in China. The words say:“Falun Dafa is good, Truthfulness-Compassion-Forbearance is good. Repeat these words sincerely and your life will be saved when in danger”

We talked about this several times. I followed his advice, and I accepted the card and quit the Chinese Communist Party (CCP) organizations.

Flat Tire

Then a miracle happened.

The temperature was high last year before noon on June 16, close to 104 degree (or 40 Celsius). I was driving on a highway at about 80 miles (or 130 km) per hour. I had not quite recovered from a minor fever the day before. Nonetheless I kept driving because I had to return to work.

About 20 miles after I entered the highway, there was suddenly a loud noise. Before I knew what happened, the vehicle started to tumble wildly like a roller coaster. Realizing I had a flat tire, I stepped on the brake. With that, I totally lost control of the vehicle. The last thing I remember seeing was the highway guardrail.

I did not know how long I lay there before I regained consciousness. A burning smell filled my nostrils. Opening my eyes, I noticed my glasses were gone. The left side of my head was covered with blood, and the safety belt restrained me tightly.

As soon as I loosened the safety belt, I fell—it turned out the vehicle was upside down. I lay there for a while trying to figure out what happened. Looking around, I saw blood and smashed glass. I realized I survived the accident.

Card in a Wallet

I made my way out of the vehicle and found myself next to the center guardrail. It seemed my vehicle was bounced across the highway from side to side, turned upside down, and then slid forward. Scattered behind it was a trail of my things: a towel, cologne, and other small objects.

My shoes were gone and the ground was too hot to walk on. I tiptoed over to grab a towel and wiped the blood off my head. Thinking the vehicle might explode, I moved away from it. To avoid traffic that drove around my Jeep, I went to the side even further.

I waved to passing cars for help, but no one stopped. I reached down for my phone, but it was gone. Surprised, I noticed my wallet was in my back pocket. I clearly remembered putting it on the car seat—how could it end up in my pocket?

Opening the wallet, I saw the little card my friend had given me. Immediately I knew I survived the accident because of the card. And I was very grateful to Mr. Li Hongzhi, the founder of Falun Dafa.

You Are a Lucky Man

Finally a truck stopped. The driver talked with me and called the police, who came 10 minutes later. An officer handed me a phone to call my parents. An ambulance came. Before we left, my father arrived. He was terrified, but then excited to see me safe.

My father checked the vehicle and discussed the accident with the police. My Jeep was totaled: the body smashed, top caved in, tires damaged, all six airbags popped open, and the vehicle had slid nearly 60 yards.

“You are a lucky man,” one officer said to me, “In an accident like this, you could have died many times.” But I did not. Fortunately the drivers seat was intact and it protected me like a shield, the officer said.

The ambulance took me to a nearby hospital, where I underwent ultrasounds on my head, chest, and stomach. I was not injured at all. The doctor said, “You only have minor scratches on your head and arms. We will give you medicine to stop the bleeding, plus antibiotics, and then you are free to go.”

I worked at home for two or three days and then went back to work. I explained to my surprised coworkers how a little card miraculously changed a person’s fate.

Chinese version available

Category: People in China Awaken to the Truth

Artistic Expressions by an Israeli Falun Dafa Practitioner

August 24, 2015 | By a practitioner in Israel

(Minghui.org) Falun Dafa is the most remarkable thing that I’ve come across in my life. It is my way, my life, my happiness. In 2000, at a park near my house, I saw some people doing exercises, and joined them. On my way home, I felt so light, as if I weighed no more than 15 kg (33 pounds). I felt very happy and at ease. I was smiling, and there were no thoughts in my head, just a feeling of joy.

When I started reading Zhuan Falun for the first time, I kept falling asleep, but wanted very much to read further. There was a feeling that I knew all of it, but it was only I who knew it! I was happy that the book had been written for all, and that all can read it! I knew that the man who wrote it was not an ordinary person.

These 15 years of cultivation have been very difficult. I faced so many tests, but it was remarkable and wonderful at the same time! Many thanks to Teacher! There are no words to express my gratitude.

I have loved to draw since childhood. I was in poor health, so I stayed at home and drew. In my imagination, everything in the drawings came to life: people, birds, and ballerinas rotating on their toes in light, snow-white tutus. I saw people through the windows of houses. I was the creator of my small, pictured world.

I now practice Falun Dafa. On holidays, I draw congratulations for our Teacher. I work as an illustrator with the Epoch Times and at a Minghui school, where I teach practitioners’ children to live by the principles of Truthfulness, Compassion, and Forbearance. I teach them to draw using watercolors–they are transparent and airy.

Here are some drawings:

2015-08-26-Israel-01
A young mother meditates while her child crawls on her feet. In other dimensions, angels are gently touching the practitioner’s hands. The practitioner is shining and has a round halo around her head. While sitting in meditation, I saw a similar picture in other dimensions.

2015-08-26-Israel-02
An illustration to a parable

2015-08-26-Israel-03
A practitioner with a child

2015-08-26-Israel-04
An illustration to a parable

Category: Art & Photo Exhibits